Citations
Sources
Two shelves on purpose. The numeric ladder picks the primary number in a cell. The interpretation shelf holds evidence and guidance for Methods and future hubs — it does not outrank a lab assay. Ranking notes: How we rank.
Numeric priority ladder
Only sources that can sit under a measured figure (g/100g, smoke point range, and later mercury or similar). Primary in the table = highest tier, then newer year, then name.
- 1
USDA FoodData Central — Foundation tier 100
Current USDA analytical foundation foods. Prefer when the oil match is clear.
- 2
USDA SR Legacy tier 90
Older USDA release still on FDC. Used when Foundation has no matching oil row.
- 3
Lab study — multi-sample tier 85
Cited lab method with a real sample set (or small series). Strong for smoke point ranges.
- 4
Industry chart — single sample tier 60
Useful method citation, but one commercial sample is not a statistical mean.
- 5
Trade / secondary literature table tier 50
Compiled figures from trade articles or secondary literature. Useful as a second smoke reading; not a primary AOCS lab run we stand behind alone.
Numeric catalog (in use)
Citations currently wired into live shelf rows (oils and sweeteners). Smoke point coverage is still thin — we only publish a range when a method is on file. Names stay public; outbound links are member depth.
USDA FoodData Central — Foundation
tier 100 · 9 sources
- USDA FoodData Central, Oil, olive, extra light
2021 · Foundation · FDC 1750351
- USDA FoodData Central, Oil, peanut
2021 · Foundation · FDC 1750348
- USDA FoodData Central, Oil, safflower
2021 · Foundation · FDC 1750350
- USDA FoodData Central, Oil, sunflower
2021 · Foundation · FDC 1750349
- USDA FoodData Central, Oil, canola
2019 · Foundation · FDC 748278
- USDA FoodData Central, Oil, coconut
2019 · Foundation · FDC 330458
- USDA FoodData Central, Oil, corn
2019 · Foundation · FDC 748323
- USDA FoodData Central, Oil, olive, extra virgin
2019 · Foundation · FDC 748608
- USDA FoodData Central, Oil, soybean
2019 · Foundation · FDC 748366
USDA SR Legacy
tier 90 · 73 sources
- FDA — D-tagatose labeling enforcement discretion (1.5 kcal/g; sugars exclusion)
2025
Recognizes 1.5 kcal/g; intends enforcement discretion to exclude D-tagatose from Total/Added Sugars; confirms 21 CFR 101.80 dental eligibility.
- FDA — 21 CFR 101.80 Health claims: noncariogenic carbohydrate sweeteners and dental caries
2024
Eligible sugar alcohols (xylitol, sorbitol, mannitol, maltitol, isomalt, lactitol, HSH, HGS, erythritol) may support a nonpromotion of dental caries claim when food criteria are met. Label claim class — not a clinical crown.
- WHO — IARC Group 2B + JECFA ADI reaffirmation for aspartame (joint release)
2023
IARC: possibly carcinogenic to humans (Group 2B) on limited evidence. JECFA: ADI 0–40 mg/kg bw unchanged; dietary exposure within ADI not a health concern. Hazard vs risk — different mandates.
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Adzuki beans, cooked, boiled, without salt (FDC 173728)
2019 · SR Legacy · FDC 173728
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Beans, black, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt (FDC 173735)
2019 · SR Legacy · FDC 173735
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Beans, kidney, all types, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt (FDC 173740)
2019 · SR Legacy · FDC 173740
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Beans, navy, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt (FDC 173746)
2019 · SR Legacy · FDC 173746
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Beans, pinto, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt (FDC 175200)
2019 · SR Legacy · FDC 175200
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Beans, white, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt (FDC 175203)
2019 · SR Legacy · FDC 175203
Generic white beans (cannellini / great northern style). Distinct from navy (FDC 173746).
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Broadbeans (fava), cooked, boiled, without salt (FDC 173753)
2019 · SR Legacy · FDC 173753
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Chickpeas, mature seeds, canned, drained solids (FDC 173800)
2019 · SR Legacy · FDC 173800
Canned drained solids — sodium contrast vs unsalted cooked.
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Chickpeas, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt (FDC 173757)
2019 · SR Legacy · FDC 173757
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Edamame, frozen, prepared (FDC 168411)
2019 · SR Legacy · FDC 168411
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Lentils, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt (FDC 172421)
2019 · SR Legacy · FDC 172421
Per 100 g cooked, unsalted.
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Lima beans, large, cooked, boiled, without salt (FDC 174253)
2019 · SR Legacy · FDC 174253
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Lupins, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt (FDC 172424)
2019 · SR Legacy · FDC 172424
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — MORI-NU, Tofu, silken, soft (FDC 174292)
2019 · SR Legacy · FDC 174292
Brand-named silken soft row on SR Legacy — used as the silken soft proxy.
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Mung beans, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt (FDC 174257)
2019 · SR Legacy · FDC 174257
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Natto (FDC 172443)
2019 · SR Legacy · FDC 172443
Per 100 g. Bacillus subtilis–fermented whole soybeans.
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Peanuts, all types, dry-roasted, without salt (FDC 173806)
2019 · SR Legacy · FDC 173806
Peanut is a legume — on this shelf even when snack aisles shelve it with tree nuts. Dry-roasted unsalted form.
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Peas, split, cooked, boiled, without salt (FDC 172429)
2019 · SR Legacy · FDC 172429
Cooked split peas — plate form contrast to pea protein concentrates.
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — SILK Unsweetened soymilk (FDC 175223)
2019 · SR Legacy · FDC 175223
Brand-named Silk unsweetened — reports dietary fiber (~0.4 g/100 g). Primary soymilk row (same pattern as Mori-Nu silken tofu).
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Soy protein concentrate, produced by alcohol extraction (FDC 172447)
2019 · SR Legacy · FDC 172447
Powder concentrate between flour and isolate — compare within Form=powder.
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Soy protein isolate (FDC 174276)
2019 · SR Legacy · FDC 174276
Powder concentrate — compare within Form=powder, not against cooked beans.
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Soy protein isolate, potassium type (FDC 174302)
2019 · SR Legacy · FDC 174302
Lower-sodium isolate variant vs standard soy protein isolate.
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Soybeans, mature cooked, boiled, without salt (FDC 174271)
2019 · SR Legacy · FDC 174271
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Tempeh (FDC 174272)
2019 · SR Legacy · FDC 174272
Fiber not reported on this USDA row. Wet retail fiber uses a branded label cite; lyophilized AOAC TDF (Vital 2018) is Methods-only — dry basis.
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Tofu, fried (FDC 172451)
2019 · SR Legacy · FDC 172451
Deep-fried tofu — fat and sat fat rise vs unfried firm/regular. Not a stand-in for homemade air-fried isolate.
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Tofu, raw, firm, prepared with calcium sulfate (FDC 172475)
2019 · SR Legacy · FDC 172475
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Tofu, raw, regular, prepared with calcium sulfate (FDC 172476)
2019 · SR Legacy · FDC 172476
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Dates, deglet noor (NDB 9087 / FDC 171726)
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 171726
Per 100 g dried Deglet Noor dates. Used as a whole-fruit powder proxy for culinary date sugar (dried, ground dates). No SR Legacy row labeled “date sugar”; commercial powders may run denser.
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Honey (NDB 19296 / FDC 169640)
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 169640
Per 100 g from SR Legacy April 2018. Floral source varies.
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Molasses (NDB 19304 / FDC 168820)
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 168820
Per 100 g from SR Legacy April 2018. Grade (light/blackstrap) shifts values.
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Sugars, brown (NDB 19334 / FDC 168833)
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 168833
Per 100 g from SR Legacy April 2018.
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Sugars, granulated (NDB 19335 / FDC 169655)
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 169655
Per 100 g from SR Legacy April 2018.
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Sugars, maple (NDB 19340 / FDC 169658)
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 169658
Per 100 g crystalline maple sugar — not maple syrup.
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Sugars, powdered (NDB 19336 / FDC 169656)
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 169656
Per 100 g. Often includes cornstarch anti-caking.
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Sweetener, syrup, agave (NDB 19912 / FDC 170277)
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 170277
Per 100 g. Brand and agave species shift fructose share.
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Sweeteners, tabletop, fructose, dry, powder (NDB 43216 / FDC 169896)
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 169896
Per 100 g dry crystalline fructose powder.
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Syrups, corn, dark (NDB 19349 / FDC 168836)
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 168836
Per 100 g dark corn syrup. Not HFCS.
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Syrups, corn, high-fructose (NDB 19351 / FDC 169659)
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 169659
Per 100 g HFCS. Fructose share varies by grade (e.g. 42 vs 55).
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Syrups, corn, light (NDB 19350 / FDC 168837)
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 168837
Per 100 g light corn syrup. Not HFCS.
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Syrups, malt (NDB 19352 / FDC 169660)
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 169660
Per 100 g malt syrup.
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Syrups, maple (NDB 19353 / FDC 169661)
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 169661
Per 100 g from SR Legacy April 2018.
- USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy — Syrups, sorghum (NDB 19355 / FDC 169662)
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 169662
Per 100 g sorghum syrup.
- USDA SR Legacy, Butter oil, anhydrous
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 173412
- USDA SR Legacy, Butter, salted
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 173410
Table butter (not anhydrous butter oil). ~16% water; FA are per 100 g butter as sold.
- USDA SR Legacy, Fat, beef tallow
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 171400
- USDA SR Legacy, Fat, chicken
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 173564
- USDA SR Legacy, Fat, goose
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 173572
- USDA SR Legacy, Lard
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 171401
- USDA SR Legacy, Oil, almond
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 171031
- USDA SR Legacy, Oil, avocado
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 173573
SR Legacy 2018, imported to FoodData Central in 2019. Record does not specify refined vs unrefined — both avocado rows share this composition until USDA publishes a split.
- USDA SR Legacy, Oil, cottonseed, salad or cooking
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 171024
- USDA SR Legacy, Oil, flaxseed, cold pressed
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 167702
- USDA SR Legacy, Oil, grapeseed
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 171028
- USDA SR Legacy, Oil, hazelnut
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 171427
- USDA SR Legacy, Oil, industrial, canola, high oleic
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 171042
- USDA SR Legacy, Oil, mustard
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 172337
High erucic acid (22:1) in this SR record — classic mustard/rapeseed-style oil, not low-erucic canola.
- USDA SR Legacy, Oil, oat
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 173576
- USDA SR Legacy, Oil, olive, salad or cooking
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 171413
- USDA SR Legacy, Oil, palm
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 171015
- USDA SR Legacy, Oil, rice bran
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 171013
- USDA SR Legacy, Oil, safflower, salad or cooking, linoleic (over 70%)
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 171026
- USDA SR Legacy, Oil, sesame, salad or cooking
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 171016
- USDA SR Legacy, Oil, sunflower, high oleic (70% and over)
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 172338
- USDA SR Legacy, Oil, sunflower, linoleic (approx. 65%)
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 171025
- USDA SR Legacy, Oil, walnut
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 171030
- USDA SR Legacy, Oil, wheat germ
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 171014
- USDA SR Legacy, Vegetable oil, palm kernel
2018 · SR Legacy · FDC 171422
Palm kernel (seed) oil — not the same as palm fruit oil.
- WHO — Guideline: sugars intake for adults and children
2015
Limits free sugars; framing for high-fructose caloric sweeteners — not a cell assay.
- Jackson et al. — Arsenic, organic foods, and brown rice syrup (Environ Health Perspect)
2012
Organic brown rice syrup can concentrate inorganic arsenic; products listing OBRS as a primary sweetener had elevated As vs peers. Shelf note for a future brown-rice-syrup row — not currently listed.
- Krog-Mikkelsen et al. — L-arabinose sucrase inhibition dose-response in vitro and in humans (Am J Clin Nutr)
2011
Caco-2 uncompetitive sucrase inhibition; healthy men: 4% L-arabinose in 75 g sucrose drink lowered glucose/insulin peaks and raised GLP-1 iAUC. Effect is with co-ingested sucrose — not a free pass to unlimited sugar.
Lab study — multi-sample
tier 85 · 25 sources
- Holgado et al., Performance of virgin and refined avocado oils during deep-frying and thermoxidation
2024
Grasas y Aceites 75(2) 2144. AOCS Cc 9a-48. Mexican-market virgin avocado 249±2°C, minimally refined 212±2°C, refined 220±3°C (means ± SD).
- FDA — Aspartame and other sweeteners in food (PKU labeling)
2023
Aspartame is a source of phenylalanine; products must warn people with PKU.
- Nurkolis et al. — Soy-based tempeh rich in paraprobiotics properties (PMC10255641)
2023
Review: Rhizopus fermentation defines tempeh; kitchen cooking typically inactivates microbes so the plate food is not a live-CFU probiotic claim — authors frame cooked tempeh as a paraprobiotic / process food. Used for the Fermented benefit chip, not a clinical endpoint score.
- Salehi & Farhoosh, Frying Stability of Virgin and Refined Sesame Oils as Compared to Refined Olive Oil
2023
Adv Nutr Food Sci 8(1) 2023. AOCS Cc 9a-48. Fresh refined sesame (RSO) 231°C and virgin sesame (VSO) 182°C from unroasted Iranian seed oils (Datis). Single product line, not a market survey.
- Taiwan TFND — Baiye tofu / thousand-layer tofu (TFND id 783)
2023
National composition table. Often isolate + oil pressed sheets — not traditional set tofu. Sodium not reported on this TFND row; brand labels vary widely.
- Yan et al. — New Zealand yacon concentrate composition + SUGiRS GI (Foods)
2023
NZFOS+ yacon concentrate: ISO 26642:2010 GI = 40 (SUGiRS, n=10). Proximate carbohydrate ~79–81 g/100 g; FOS ~18–52 g/100 g by batch; K ~658 mg/100 g. Brand/process specific.
- Ahmed et al. — Nutritional health perspective of natto (PMC9616652)
2022
Review: Bacillus subtilis fermentation; natto as a rich natural MK-7 (vitamin K2) food. Used for Fermented / Vitamin K2 benefit chips — not a CFU count or medical claim.
- Pasmans et al. — L-arabinose co-ingestion delays glucose absorption from sucrose (Br J Nutr)
2021
Human crossover: sucrose + L-arabinose attenuates early exogenous glucose appearance vs sucrose alone.
- Tsao et al., Application of OXITEST for Prediction of Shelf-Lives of Selected Cold-Pressed Oils
2021
Front Nutr 8:763524. AOCS Cc 9a-48 smoke points on expeller-pressed oils from Taiwanese retail seeds (lab press, not commercial bottle survey). Means ± SD in Table 2.
- USDA FoodData Central — Soy milk, unsweetened, plain, shelf stable (FDC 1750337)
2021 · FDC 1750337
Unsweetened plain shelf-stable soy milk. Dilute drink form (~93% water) — not comparable to tofu density on the same 100 g. Calcium on this row reflects typical fortification.
- USDA FoodData Central FNDDS — Textured vegetable protein, dry (FDC 2707451)
2021 · FDC 2707451
FNDDS dry TVP row (not SR Legacy). Dry granules — rehydrate before kitchen use; do not rank against cooked beans on the same wet weight.
- FDA — Declaration of allulose and calories from allulose (guidance)
2020
Enforcement discretion: 0.4 kcal/g; exclude allulose from total/added sugars. Negligible glycemic response per FDA evidence review — not an Atkinson GI table row.
- Guillaume et al., Evaluation of Chemical and Physical Changes in Different Commercial Oils during Heating
2018
Acta Scientific Nutritional Health 2.6 (2018); De Alzaa / Guillaume et al. AOCS Cc 9a-48 on a YD-1 instrument; duplicate measures. One Australian supermarket bottle per oil type (initial smoke points before heating trials). Supermarket coconut (CoO, ~191°C) is filed on virgin/unrefined coconut — paper does not say “virgin,” but that reading fits better than the ISEO deodorized refined sample. Table 1 fatty-acid % also used for the high-oleic peanut row (same bottle as smoke): SFA = palmitic+stearic; MUFA = oleic+palmitoleic; PUFA from Table 5; linoleic / linolenic from Table 1. FA % treated as g/100 g oil for a nearly pure triglyceride fat.
- Vital et al. — White bean & soybean tempeh; AOAC enzymatic-gravimetric TDF on lyophilized samples (PMC6163864)
2018
Soybean tempeh AOAC TDF 18.96 g/100 g (insoluble 16.80, soluble 2.18) on lyophilized samples (moisture 2.57%). Catalog cell restores to wet basis with USDA SR water 59.6 g/100 g (FDC 174272): ≈7.9 g/100 g — see reading limitations.
- Aragno & Mastrocola — Dietary sugars and endogenous AGE formation (Nutrients)
2017
Reviews in-vitro fructation: fructose often ~7.5–10× more reactive than glucose for non-enzymatic glycoxidation of model proteins (Bunn & Higgins; Suarez et al.). Plasma fructose is normally far lower than glucose; in-vivo vascular AGE attribution remains debated.
- Ayton, J. Understanding the Smoke Point of Olive Oil (HIA OL15000)
2016
AOCS Cc 9a-48, Cleveland open cup. Extra virgin and virgin olive oil ranges from about 200 Australian samples. Other oils in the same presentation are mostly single samples except canola (n=6).
- Hofman et al. — Nutrition, health, and regulatory aspects of digestible maltodextrins
2016
Digestible MDs about 16 kJ/g (4 kcal/g); EU labeling example about 3.8 kcal/g when accounting for moisture/CHO fraction.
- Schalkwijk & Stehouwer — Fructose-mediated AGEs in metabolic disease (Adv Nutr)
2016
Fructose ~10× more reactive than glucose in vitro, but plasma concentration ~1% of glucose; evidence for fructose-driven vascular AGEs still incomplete. Supports cautious AGE framing, not a blood-AGE certainty claim.
- Phillips, Carlsen & Blomhoff — Total antioxidant content of alternatives to refined sugar (J Am Diet Assoc)
2009
FRAP assay on US retail sweeteners. Dark/blackstrap molasses highest (~4.6–4.9 mmol/100 g); maple syrup, brown sugar, honey intermediate (~0.2–0.7); refined sugar / corn syrup / agave nectar minimal (<0.01). In-vitro TAC — not a clinical antioxidant claim. Coconut sugar was not in this panel.
- Atkinson et al., International tables of glycemic index (Diabetes Care)
2008
Compiled GI values (glucose = 100). Form and portion matter; not a medical ranking.
- Health Canada — Novel food information: Trehalose
2006
Fully digestible to glucose; about 4 kcal/g; counts as sugars/carbohydrate on the Nutrition Facts table.
- Venema et al. — D-tagatose increases butyrate production by colonic microbiota (Microb Ecol Health Dis)
2005
Healthy adults, RCT crossover: 7.5–12.5 g/d D-tagatose for 2 weeks; in vitro / model work showed increased butyrate; high dose raised fecal lactobacilli in men. Prebiotic-like fermentation — not an ISAPP formal claim here.
- Livesey — Health potential of polyols (osmotic / laxative effects)
2003
Polyols can cause osmotic diarrhea / GI discomfort at higher intakes; dose and polyol differ.
- Livesey — Health potential of polyols as sugar replacers (Nutrition Research Reviews)
2003
Polyol GI and II compiled from clinical glycaemia studies (glucose = 100).
- Seri et al. — L-Arabinose selectively inhibits intestinal sucrase (Metabolism)
1996
Uncompetitive sucrase inhibition; suppresses glycemic response after sucrose ingestion in animals.
Tier 80
tier 80 · 13 sources
- Puspareni et al. — Glycaemic response of traditional palm sugar / Arenga pinnata (Amerta Nutrition)
2022
OGTT in 10 healthy adults; palm sugar GI 98.71 vs cane sugar reference. Product and process matter.
- Guerrero-Wyss et al. — D-Tagatose sweetener and glycaemia (BioMed Research International)
2018
Reviews GI about 3 (glucose reference) and osmotic GI effects at higher single doses.
- Iwasaki et al. — D-allulose GLP-1 release and vagal afferents (Nat Commun)
2018
Rodent models: oral D-allulose raises portal GLP-1, improves glucose tolerance via GLP-1R / vagal afferents. Animal mechanism — not a human diabetes-drug claim.
- FDA — calorie conversion factors for sugar alcohols (nutrition labeling)
2016
Labeling kcal/g × 100 for anhydrous polyol. Not a USDA assayed food row; EU averages differ. Carbohydrate ≈ 100 g/100 g by difference for the pure crystal.
- Yoshizane et al. — Glycemic responses after oral trehalose (Nutrition Journal)
2016
Healthy adults; 25 g load (not classical 50 g GI). Mean blood-glucose IAUC ratio vs glucose about 38%.
- Trinidad et al. — Coconut sap sugar and syrup (Acta Manilana)
2015
Philippine coconut sap sugar (month 0): carbohydrate ~94.9 g/100 g; total sugar ~94.1 g/100 g; K 1075 mg; Fe 0.6 mg; Zn 0.1 mg; inulin 4.57 g/100 g. Process and storage shift values.
- SUGiRS / University of Sydney GI News — coconut sugar brand test
2014
One commercial coconut sugar brand, ISO-style GI assay. Brand and process vary.
- Wright, Ellis & Ilag — HFCS GI control in filtered-molasses study (Plant Foods Hum Nutr)
2014
Healthy adults; HFCS control GI = 56 (glucose = 100). Grade (42 vs 55) not specified in the sweetener cell — composition still shifts expected GI. Also listed in the Sydney GI database.
- SUGiRS — Karo Dark Corn Syrup GI (University of Sydney GI database)
2013
Karo Dark Corn Syrup (USA): GI 90 (glucose = 100). SUGiRS unpublished observations, 2013, in the Sydney GI database. Dark corn syrup ≠ HFCS.
- SUGiRS — Pure Harvest Organic rice malt syrup GI (University of Sydney GI database)
2013
Rice malt syrup GI 98. Related high-maltose syrup context only — not barley malt syrup (USDA Syrups, malt).
- Chen et al. — Heat/filtration processing vs honey antimicrobial activity and H₂O₂ (Frontiers in Microbiology)
2012
In-vitro antimicrobial activity largely peroxide-linked (bee glucose oxidase → H₂O₂ on dilution); heat/filtration often reduce activity. Osmolarity and other factors also contribute. Not a wound-drug or infection-treatment claim.
- den Hartog et al. — Erythritol is a sweet antioxidant (Nutrition)
2010
In-vitro hydroxyl-radical scavenger; endothelium-protective signals in streptozotocin diabetic rats. Display-only mechanism — not a clinical antioxidant supplement claim.
- Van Den Eeden et al. — Aspartame ingestion and headaches, randomized crossover (Neurology)
1994
Self-identified susceptible volunteers: more headache-days on aspartame (~30 mg/kg/d) than placebo (33% vs 24% of days). Subset effect — not proven for all users. FDA AERS is surveillance noise, not causal proof.
Tier 75
tier 75 · 3 sources
- Fineli — Maltodextrin (food id 30570)
2024
Per 100 g: energy 385 kcal; available carbohydrate 94.8 g (Finnish food composition).
- Nayak et al. — Xylitol on dental caries and oral flora (J Int Soc Prev Community Dent)
2014
Review: xylitol reduces mutans streptococci and supports caries-control / remineralization context when used habitually at sufficient daily dose (often via gum). Dose and vehicle matter — not a drug claim.
- GI News / Brand-Miller — HFCS GI not published by manufacturers (University of Sydney)
2010
2010 note: manufacturers had not published an HFCS GI; expected near sucrose. Later Wright 2014 assayed an HFCS control — prefer that measured cell over invented 42/55 grade ranges.
Tier 70
tier 70 · 5 sources
- FDA — High-intensity sweeteners permitted for use in food
2023
Regulatory status note for intense sweeteners; not a GI assay.
- USDA FoodData Central Branded — Beyond Burger plant-based patties (FDC 2367272)
2021 · Branded Foods · FDC 2367272
Brand label snapshot — recipes churn. Pea-protein meat analog. Not a plate bean; Everyday plate recipes should hard-gate.
- USDA FoodData Central Branded — Impossible Burger patties (FDC 1997200)
2021 · Branded Foods · FDC 1997200
Brand label snapshot — recipes churn. Soy-concentrate meat analog with heme. Not a plate bean; Everyday plate recipes should hard-gate.
- High-intensity sweeteners — no available carbohydrate for classical GI
2020
FDA high-intensity / nonnutritive sweetener class: essentially no available carbohydrate. GI assigned 0 for open-axis ranking; energy 0 for pure culinary form (packets with fillers differ). Not a clinical GI assay in Atkinson tables.
- Bao et al. — Predicting GI/GL from macronutrients (Nutrients); maltodextrin GIi = 110
2019
Modeling table assigns maltodextrin GIi 110 (glucose = 100). DE and brand shift real assays; literature often cites about 85-110.
Industry chart — single sample
tier 60 · 4 sources
- Rizzo — Soy-Based Tempeh as a Functional Food; Table 1 Lightlife commercial tempeh fiber (Front Biosci Elite)
2024
Wet retail soybean tempeh label fiber compiled in Table 1 (Lightlife 7.1 g/100 g). Used because USDA SR Legacy tempeh (FDC 174272) does not report fiber. Brand-specific — not a multi-brand mean.
- Ingredion — CERELOSE anhydrous dextrose nutrition typical (USP / food grade)
2020
Manufacturer typical per 100 g. Used only because USDA SR Legacy has no anhydrous dextrose row.
- Riawan — Indeks glikemik gula aren cetak dan kristal (IPB undergraduate thesis)
2017
Proximate composition for crystal arenga sugar (total carbohydrate ~92.6 g/100 g; sucrose ~86.6 g/100 g). Thesis, not peer-reviewed journal.
- Institute of Shortening and Edible Oils, Typical Smoke, Flash & Fire Points
2010
AOCS Cc 9a-48, Cleveland open cup. One commercial sample per oil after deodorization, free fatty acids 0.05% or less. ISEO says this is not a statistical mean or a range.
Trade / secondary literature table
tier 50 · 1 source
- Eyres, L. Frying oils: selection, smoke points and potential deleterious effects for health
2015
Food New Zealand 15(1) Feb/Mar 2015: 30–31. Table of selected smoke points from literature with %FFA. Text cites AOCS Cc 9a-48 as the standard smoke method, but the table itself is a secondary compilation — not Eyres’s own lab series. RBD tallow fats <0.1% FFA listed at 240 °C; beef dripping (tallow) 1.0% FFA at 165 °C. Used only as secondary / unrefined-dripping readings.
Interpretation shelf
Kept off the ladder on purpose so the list can grow with sugar substitutes, seafood, and meat without pretending a review site is a lab. Use these for Methods, polarity copy, and hub essays.
Composition databases
Raw nutrient and fatty-acid figures for tables. Same family as the numeric ladder.
- USDA FoodData Central
Default composition database for oils now; sweeteners, meat, and seafood macros later. Ladder entries point at specific FDC foods.
Cooking oils · Sweeteners · Meat · Seafood
Evidence synthesis
Neutral reviews of clinical literature. Good for sweeteners and claim strength — not a lab assay.
- Examine
Independent evidence grades on supplements and ingredients (e.g. allulose and glycemia). Cite for what trials say — not for g/100g cells.
Sweeteners
- Heat / oxidative stability vs smoke point (cooking-oil lab framing)
Lab comparisons and reviews: initial smoke point correlates poorly with polar compounds / heating performance; total PUFA load and oxidative / thermo-oxidative stability are stronger signals than smoke. Grounds PUFA↓ as the heat-stability core on eater heat recipes — not a cell primary for an invented assay.
Cooking oils
- Sci Rep — cooking oil fumes, extractor use, lung cancer (nonsmoking Han Chinese women)
Observational dose–response between cumulative cooking-fume exposure and lung cancer; long-term extractor use associated with ~50% lower risk in this study. Why chef-air exists as a category — not proof that oil brand A is safer than B by smoke point alone.
Cooking oils
- Meta-analysis — cooking oil fumes & lung cancer in Chinese nonsmoking women
Pooled association of cooking-oil-fume exposure (and lacking a ventilator) with lung cancer in nonsmoking women. Supports the chef-air question; still not an oil-by-oil assay.
Cooking oils
- Shanghai cohort — kitchen ventilation, cooking fuels, lung cancer
Prospective never-smoking women: poor ventilation associated with higher lung-cancer risk; coal + poor ventilation stronger; cooking oil use alone not significant. Honesty rail for chef-air — ventilation/fuel often dominate oil type.
Cooking oils
Public-health & metabolic guidance
How we talk about “healthier ends” of an axis, and later weight rationale — not cell primaries.
- Harvard T.H. Chan — The Nutrition Source
Public-health framing on fat types (prefer less sat; unsaturated / MUFA-rich oils; plant vs fish omega-3). Primary cite for weighted-recipe polarity — not g/100g cells.
Cooking oils · Sweeteners
- Dietary Guidelines for Americans — saturated fat guidance
Population guidance to keep saturated fat under ~10% of calories and replace sat with unsaturated fats in the eating pattern — grounds sat↓ weights, not our decimal mix.
Cooking oils
- American Heart Association — saturated fat limits
Often tighter sat-fat targets than DGA; supports giving sat↓ the largest weight on heart-lean recipes. Not a treatment algorithm.
Cooking oils
- Peter Attia, MD
Deep metabolic commentary (insulin resistance, fructose, fat metabolism). Context for Methods — only cite a number if the piece points at a primary paper.
Cooking oils · Sweeteners
Seafood nutrition & safety
For a future fish / seafood hub: mercury advice and sustainability alongside USDA composition.
- FDA — Advice about Eating Fish
Mercury and serving guidance for fish. Pair with USDA for nutrient composition when the seafood hub lands.
Seafood
- Monterey Bay Aquarium — Seafood Watch
Sustainability ratings and practical pick lists. Not the primary Omega-3 or mercury assay — USDA + FDA cover those numbers.
Seafood